Music Review – Postmodern Jukebox

postmodern-jukebox-lrg

This isn’t going to be so much a review as it is the gushings of a fan. I’m a complete sucker for anything old-fashioned, and even more so for new things being interpreted in old-fashioned ways. So when I stumbled across this group while scrolling through my Facebook news feed, I kind of freaked out. A lot.

For those of you who don’t know, Postmodern Jukebox is a group that takes modern pop songs and turns them into music from days long past. For example, they have a 20s jazz version of “Call Me Maybe,” a 50s doo-wop version of “We Can’t Stop,” a Motown version of Katy Perry’s “Roar,” a 40’s jazz version of “Thrift Shop,” and much more. My closed-minded and cynical self would say that they’re taking bad music and making it good, but since I don’t want to make anyone angry, I’ll say that they’re taking modern songs and putting a creative twist on them.

The thing I like best about them, though, is that they’re all great musicians. I don’t know where these guys come from, but they are talented. The pianist, Scott Bradlee, is particularly amazing. I watched a TED talk with him where he explained how he basically taught himself how to play piano after hearing George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue.” And now he can pretty much play anything. If you look on his YouTube Channel, you’ll find a bunch of videos of him combining two different songs or, my particular favorite, improvising on “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” by taking the song through the many stages of modern music.

So, like I said, this isn’t so much a review as it is a I REALLY REALLY LIKE THESE PEOPLE post. Eh. Whatever.

I really, really like these people. You should check them out.

Leave a Reply

