Knife Ink Reviews Update – “Schedule,” The New Year, Etc.

Hi everyone! Since the new year has started, I thought I’d make a very quick update on what I’m planning to do with Knife Ink Reviews in 2015. The short answer is I have a better idea but I still don’t really know. However, I do have a few things planned.

First, I’ve made a semi-New Year’s resolution to kind of get more organized-ish. To go along with that, I want to try and release reviews on a reliable schedule. Now, bear in mind that I am horrible at keeping up with schedules and depending on my crazy real-life schedule, it’s not going to be completely regular. But I still want to give it a shot.

Here’s how it will (sort of) work: Every Monday afternoon, I will release either a normal review/post on Knife Ink Reviews, an X-Files episode review, or an audio recording. I will rotate between these each week.

The X-Files reviews (on my separate blog The Review is Out There) are straightforward enough, but the question is, what am I going to be reviewing on Knife Ink Reviews?

Well, firstly, I want to do the audio reviews again. I had so much fun doing them with The Legend of Korra that I’ve decided to try a new show, and thanks to Doug Walker and his vlogs I became aware of a cartoon show named Gravity Falls. Now, believe me, even though I love Doug and his work, it is not my intention to copy everything he does. I saw Avatar: The Last Airbender before he did, and since the announcement of Matrix month I’ve decided to put off reviewing The Matrix for a while.

With that said, I would like to emphasize that I will not be watching any of Doug’s Gravity Falls vlogs whatsoever when I do my audio recordings. I chose Gravity Falls not because I wish to imitate Doug, but because I watched the pilot and really liked it, much more than I thought I would. I’ve never been a fan of modern cartoon shows, especially the Disney ones, but after some research into Gravity Falls I discovered that the creator is a fan of Twin Peaks and yes, The X-Files – but even if I hadn’t read that, I can totally tell from the show itself. In other words, it’s right up my alley. I’m excited.

Now, as for regular Knife Ink Reviews reviews, that’s the part where I honestly have no idea. I’ve been meaning to see some new movies – particularly Selma and Interstellar – but I don’t know if I’ll have the time. The Top Ten Best Songs of 2014 list should be out soon – I haven’t yet decided which one of the three segments I want to start off this new schedule. In any case, expect something up by tomorrow.

Thanks to anyone who follows this blog, and see you later!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter. Goodness knows your life would be so incomplete if you forgot that.


Very tentative schedule:

Screen Shot 2015-01-12 at 8.57.58 PM

Also The Top Ten Best Songs of 2014 will be squeezed in somewhere.

Leave a Reply

